Kaya

If you’re looking for a cool bar scene, outdoor seating, and food that will send your taste buds on a wild ride, then head over to Kaya in the Strip District. This ‘exotic and lively’ cuisine inspired by the Caribbean, South America, Pacific, and beyond, was more unique than anything I’ve found in Pittsburgh yet.

IMG_2244

We started off with an appetizer from their “April Featured Island Cuisine,” which happened to be Cuba this month. The Mojo Pork was delectable – the pork itself was so tender, the beans added a creamy texture, and the cilantro, jalapeño, and pickled onions added the kick the dish needed. I could tell from that plate that my meal was going to be full of flavor…

…and flavorful it was. I love a good stir fry, and since I’m not too familiar with Caribbean foods, I had to go with the Caribbean Flank Steak Stir Fry. I can honestly say I’ve never had a stir fry sauce that had more flavor than what I was given at Kaya. The dish was packed with tons of veggies and steak, and had an amazing coconut rice to subdue the flavor from the rest of the ingredients.

~~~

Needless to say, I’ll be back for you Kaya. Especially since I’m moving a few blocks away in just a few months. I can’t wait to see what other monthly specials they have to offer too!

Yinzer Eats. Where Yinzers Eat.

Leave a comment